Our History
Establishment and Expansion
In 1811
When the Duke of Portland’s lease on Marylebone Park expired, Parliament passed an Act to create a new public park and authorise residential development managed by the Commissioners of Woods and Forests. Architect John Nash designed the layout in 1812, which was implemented by James Morgan.
By 1824
The west and south Terraces were complete as designed by Nash, except for Cornwall Terrace, which had been designed by Decimus Burton. Burton went on to collaborate with Nash in the design of Clarence Terrace.
On 21 June 1824
The Government passed an Act (5 Geo. IV, Cap. 100) to transfer the care and maintenance of the roads and sewers from Whitehall to Regent’s Park to a new Commission to be called ‘Crown Estate Paving Commission’. The Commission was empowered to construct roads and pavements, provide lighting, water, sewerage, refuse collection, and maintain ornamental gardens.
To fund these services, the Commission was empowered to levy rates based on the annual market rent of properties on the estate. The Commission was also given powers to determine these rateable values and caps were set for the rates.
Subsequent Acts expanded the Commission’s remit:
1825: Added New Palace Yard, Old Palace Yard and nearby Crown properties in Westminster
1828: Included Carlton Palace and Richmond Terrace
1832: Extended to Cockspur Street, Great George Street, and more
Early Commissioners
Contraction
Functions
Originally, the Commission’s statutory functions included:
- Refuse collection from Crown Estate houses in Regent’s Park
- Maintenance of all roadways, footways, and mews on the Estate
- Provision and upkeep of street lighting on the Outer Circle, terrace and mews roadways.
- Cleaning of all streets and mews roadways on the Estate.
- Staffing day and night gatekeepers at certain Regent’s Park entrances
- Maintenance of terrace gardens and podiums
- Care of Richmond Terrace Lodge and gardens
Difficult Times
Today
After the post war reconstruction of the Regent’s Park terraces, the Commission returned to a working statutory body. The Commission aims to contribute significantly to preserving the internationally significant heritage environment of the estate in Regent’s Park, at Carlton House Terrace and to these areas remaining desirable, high-quality and safe environments for occupiers.
A team of circa 25 staff is led by the Director (also Clerk and Treasurer to the Commissioners). The historic roles of Sergeant of the Night and Inspector of Pavements, however, are no longer in operation.